Spring

There’s a restlessness that comes with Spring.

As the flowers and the trees shake off their frosty coats

my bones clamor all over each other trying to escape

the confines of my body. And my marrow sends love notes

to every passing cloud.

Mama begs my feet to knead her back

and the stars reach out and grab my veins,

filling them with fire–an electric attack.

The roots of trees rise up

to push me off the ground until

face to face with the moon

not even my teeth can stay still.

 

They turn ebony and ivory

and start to dance to a wild, reckless rhythm.

 

The drums in my ears pound louder

and louder sounding Spring’s anthem.

And i’m a slave to the season.

 

 

Leave a Reply

